Hopefully the start of an adventure

Hi!

This is my first blog, which is kind of exciting! I’m living in the Netherlands but I want to see as much of the world as possible. Starting with a dream I’ve had since I was little. America.

So, yesterday I saw an ad on Facebook about becoming a Cultural Au Pair. Which is a kinda like being a nanny abroad. And as you can guess, my interest was taken by this ad. Simply because I love children and the cultural part. Since it’s Sunday and I really don’t have much to do. I decided to get some more information. Which led to me going to a information meeting on Wednesday! I can’t wait :).

I don’t really want to go alone so I have asked my little sister to come with me. A little sister who is so jealous that she isn’t old enough to go. You have to be between 18 and 26 years old (19 year old here, hehe). You have to have experience with children (3 younger siblings and I’m currrently watching a toddler). You have to be responsible (no problemo, I lived on my own for about a year).

You also have to study there, which I don’t mind at all, seeing as I’m always working on improving myself and learning new skills!

After your year with the family ends, you can travel freely for a month before you fly back.

So for now, I’m really excited. Even though I will have to give up some things, like my parttime job at the supermarket which I’ve had for 3 years now. I’ll probably lose some of my friends along the way. But…this is my life and this is my dream…which may come true now! God, I cannot wait for that meeting on Wednesday. It’s in Rotterdam so basically next door and I just hope I’m good enough to get accepted 🙂

Leave a Reply

